Creating an account with gives you access to more features and services, like our weekly newsletter and other special features just for the film community.



Sign up to access information about new releases before anyone else. By joining you’re entered for a chance to
win two tickets to a red carpet premiere
at the 2016 Tribeca Film Festival.

By clicking the Sign Up button, you agree that we may send you Tribeca Film emails at the address provided above from time to time on behalf of Tribeca Enterprises (about events, promotions and activities). You can unsubscribe at any time by following the instructions in any email you receive.

'Newton’s Laws of Emotion' Wins First TFI Sloan Filmmaker Prize

The project, which follows a young, lovelorn Isaac Newton, will receive a $10,000 cash prize that will be used to help bring the film closer to completion.

Tonight the Tribeca Film Institute announced the winner of the first ever TFI Sloan Filmmaker Prize, Newton’s Laws of Emotion. The prize was awarded by a jury comprised of film and science luminaries in order to further support a project that has the most potential to succeed in fulfilling the program's mission of advancing a greater public understanding of science.

The project was chosen from the four 2013 Sloan Filmmaker Fund recipients. Those recipients were awarded a total of $140,000 in grants earlier in the month. Each of the projects integrates science and technology themes and characters into their storylines. The grant recipients will also receive year-round mentorship from science experts and members of the film industry in order to complete their projects.

Newton’s Laws of Emotion (Eugene Ramos, Screenwriter; Andeep Singh, Producer) follows a young Isaac Newton as he pursues the affections of a headstrong princess and seeks to uncover the principles of love using his new system of mathematics. However, his equations start to break down when her former lover enters the scene.

The 2013 jury members included actors Clark Middleton (Kill Bill: Vol. II, Sin City), Ron Livingston (Office Space, "Band of Brothers"), Dean Winters (“Oz,” “30 Rock,” “Rescue Me”), Helen Fisher, PhD, biological anthropologist; and John Quackenbusch, Harvard professor of computational biology and bioinformatics.

In addition to the TFI/Sloan Filmmaker Prize, the TAA Creative Promise Awards and the alumni grants were presented at an evening reception this evening, April 24, at MEGU in Manhattan.


What you need to know today


© 2017 Tribeca Enterprises LLC | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions