Stay up to date on the latest Tribeca news and special offers with our newsletter. Sign up now.
One Nation Under Dog

Spotlight

World Premiere

USA | 73 MINUTES | English |

ONE NATION UNDER DOG

Female Director(s), Documentary
We're a nation of dog lovers, but unfortunately there are not enough of us to go around. Each year, millions of dogs are abandoned, and more than 4 million are euthanized. This heartfelt documentary explores the conflicted and passionate relationships we have with dogs, inspiring us to rethink how we treat them. Following three separate storylines by different filmmakers, One Nation Under Dog explores the lengths people will go for their furry friends.

Three unique perspectives from a trio of award-winning directors power this anthology of stories. Jenny Carchman evokes an unlikely empathy for both dog owners and bite victims, while Amanda Micheli shares the heart-wrenching loss of mourners in a pet bereavement group. Ellen Goosenberg Kent's loving portrait of an accidental rescuer is a quiet, moving study of a selfless life, and her footage inside a puppy mill leaves an indelible mark on one's idea of breeders. Alternating between shocking and inspirational, the film presents a view inside a quiet crisis unfolding under our noses.

CAST & CREDITS

Directed by Jenny Carchman, Amanda Micheli, Amanda Micheli, Jenny Carchman, Ellen Goosenberg Kent, and Amanda Micheli

Ellen Goosenberg Kent has earned four Emmys and two Peabody Awards for her doc films, which include Wartorn: 1861-2010 and Alive Day Memories: Home From Iraq. Amanda Micheli won a Student Academy Award for her first film, Just For the Ride, and an Oscar nomination for her short doc La Corona. Jenny Carchman has made programming for HBO, Frontline, American Masters, and more. She recently produced Martin Scorsese's George Harrison: Living in the Material World.
Director
Jenny Carchman, Ellen Goosenberg Kent, Amanda Micheli
Supervising Editor
Geof Bartz, A.C.E.
Producer
RJ Cutler, Julie Goldman, Allyson Luchak, Danielle Renfrew
Co-Producer
Larissa Bills
Supervising Producer
Lisa Heller
Editor
Seth Bomse, Joe Beshenkovsky, Traci Loth
Composer
Gary Lionelli, Nathan Larson
Primary Cast
Edgar and Nina Otto, Dr. Robert Taffet, Julie Adams, John Gagnon, Shawn South Aswad, Betty J. Carmack, R.N.

CONTACTS

Producer
Allyson Luchak
Bonne Pioche International
420 Lexington Avenue, Suite 2312 New York, New York 10170
Phone: 011 33 6 19 55 67 26
allyson.luchak@mac.com
Sales Agent
Colette Smith
HBO
1100 Sixth Avenue New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212.512.1283
colette.smith@hbo.com
Press Contact
Jessica Driscoll
HBO
1100 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212 512 1322
jessica.driscoll@hbo.com
Producer
Julie Goldman
Producer
Motto Pictures
68 Jay Street, Suite 319 Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone: 718-823-1950
julie@mottopictures.com
http://www.mottopictures.com
Producer
R.J. Cutler
Actual Reality Pictures
16030 Ventura Boulevard, Suite 380 Encino, CA 91436
Phone: +1 310 202 8166
rjcutler@arp.tv
Producer
Danielle Renfrew
danielle@map-point.com
Other
Sara Bernstein
VP, HBO Documentary Films
HBO Documentary Films
1100 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212 512 1969
sara.bernstein@hbo.com
http://www.hbo.com
Press Contact
Lana Iny
HBO
1100 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036
Phone: (212) 512-1462
lana.iny@hbo.com
Technical Contact
Barbara Caver
HBO Business Affairs Dept.
1100 Avenue of the Americas, H13-16 New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212 512 5908
barbara.caver@hbo.com
http://www.hbo.com
Print Return
Ellen Goosenberg
Phone: 212 512 7291
ellen.goosenberg@hbo.com
Print Return
Ellen Goosenberg Kent
Golden Egg Entertainment Inc./HBO
79 Laight Street #5A New York, NY 10013
Phone: 212 512 7291
egkent4@gmail.com
Main Contact
Lisa Heller
Vice President, HBO Documentary Films
HBO Documentary Films
1100 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212 512 5303
lisa.heller@hbo.com
http://www.hbo.com/docs