The Future

International Narrative Competition

World Premiere

FEATURE | Israel | 80 MINUTES | Arabic, Hebrew | English subtitles


Action, Women, Drama

When Israel’s Minister of Space and Tourism is murdered in the lead-up to the country’s first mission to the moon, Yaffa (Samar Qupty), a young Arab university student from the occupied West Bank, confesses to the murder. Scientist Nurit (Reymond Amsalem) asks for permission to interview the assassin. As the pioneer of The Future Project, an algorithm-based program meant to predict acts of terrorism (or, if you’re Palestinian, resistance), Nurit is convinced that the unrepentant Yaffa is withholding her whole motivation. The two women face off, determined to give nothing away, over a potentially fraught series of encounters. As the truth is exposed — and the spacecraft carrying a nation’s dreams nears its destination — an increasingly disillusioned Nurit inches towards a profoundly troubling realization.

Writer-director Noam Kaplan’s second feature is a taut, engrossing drama that pares the struggle for liberation down to its essence. Suffused with a potent irony, and powered by two riveting performances, The Future balances sympathy for its main characters with a lucid, unsentimental grasp of the issues at stake. It’s an intelligent and bracingly searching film that lingers after it ends.––Jonathan Ali

In Person

Sat June 10 - 8:45 PM

Sun June 11 - 6:30 PM

Sat June 17 - 8:15 PM

*Rush Tickets available at venue except for Beacon Theatre
Rush will be offered when advanced tickets for a screening or event are no longer available at venues other than Beacon Theatre. The Rush system functions as a standby line that will form at the venue approximately one hour prior to scheduled start time. Admittance is based on availability and will begin roughly 10 minutes prior to program start time. Rush Tickets are the same price as advance tickets and are payable upon entry.


Directed by Noam Kaplan

Associate Producer
Janja Kralj, Matan Gaida
David Klemes
Effi Cohen Vertes
Shark De Mayo
Noam Kaplan
Yoav Roeh, Aurit Zamir
Noam Kaplan
Reymonde Amsellem, Samar Qupty, Dar Zuzovsky, Aviva Ger, Salwa Nakkara